Chaos and Cupcakes

It’s been a busy weekend around these parts…but when do I not say that?!

It’s like every Saturday morning since I was 16 years old…
I show up to work at the quilt shop my boss always asks me how I am doing. And my reply is always *heavy sigh*…tired. But it’s (usually) true. It so ritual now actually that we both get a good laugh. I think if my answer is every not that though, I know I’m not working hard enough. I’m just trying to do the next right thing in life for me. Right now, that means working a full time job (it’s actually a full-time, paid internship) and then working a full shift at the quilt shop on Saturdays. But I’m not complaining. Everything going on in my life right now (though chaotic at times) is what I need for me at the moment.

In doing all this though, I’m trying to pursue my dream — and like I’ve mentioned before, this is it. So even though I’m admitting that I’m tired (because I am) I know that this will pay off in the long run. I know that these extra hours I’m putting in to design patterns, finish a quilt, and everything else that comes with this dream of mine…are going to pay off.

On a lighter note, today was a lovely day around here. I spent it with my family and accomplished the following:

  • Slept in until I couldn’t sleep any longer (you should all know now…that I LOVE my sleep. And if you’re asking, yea…it was 11:00 when I finally got up.)
  • Washed my car with my little sister and dad
  • Finished sewing on borders to my cats applique quilt
  • Finished quilting a couple last pieces of my owls quilt I just got back from the quilter (it’s almost ready for a photo shoot to grace the cover of the pattern!)
  • And lastly, I made some LOVELY cupcakes for my brother’s girlfriend for her birthday! — Happy Birthday Darlene!!!

I’ve been experimenting with cupcake recipes lately and got this idea in my head to make mint chocolate cupcakes. (I thought they’d be perfect for St. Patrick’s Day coming up as well.) So I got all my ingredients together and decided to take a leap and test out these suckers.

Because I didn’t have much time, I totally cheated and just used a box a Pillsbury Devil’s Food Cake to make the cupcakes. Don’t get me wrong…I’m not hating on boxed cake mix! — It’s pretty much all I’ve ever known, and never seems to fail at tasting good. I’ve just been trying to do a little more baking from scratch lately is all. No surprise here when the cupcakes came out light and fluffy…and in perfect little shaped domes. The next part was to make the frosting.

Here’s what I did…

Oreo/Mint Buttercream Frosting

chocolate mint buttercream frostingMakes enough for 24 cupcakes
Ingredients:
2 sticks unsalted butter (room temperature)
4 cups confectioners’ sugar (sifted)
1 teaspoon whole milk
1 teaspoon peppermint extract
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup crushed up Oreo cookies (without the frosting centers)
2 to 3 drops of green food coloring for minty green color

Directions:
In a large mixer combine butter, sugar, extract, milk and salt. Mix on high for 3 to 5 minutes until light and airy. (I find that the amount of milk added to this isn’t enough to make it thicken into frosting consistency. I like to add another one teaspoon at a time until I feel like the frosting is the consistency I want it.) With mixer on medium speed, slowly add in crushed Oreo cookies. (When adding the crushed Oreo cookie crumbs to the frosting, I made sure to mix in a few bigger pieces for a nice little bite of crunchiness.) Frost cupcakes and enjoy!

(Recipe borrowed and altered from The Cupcake Diaries: Recipes and Memories from Sisters of Georgetown Cupcake — great book btw! I love the show too! Lots of really tasty recipes. I used their basic Vanilla Buttercream Frosting recipe and tweaked it a bit to make this fabulous mint frosting.)

Well, now that I’m coming down from my immense sugar high..I better say goodnight. I’m going to crash any second it seems….
Thanks to all the newcomers to this blog! Welcome and thanks for checkin’ me out! I look forward to interacting with you all in the future…

Until next time…..
Happy……ZZZzzzz…..

4 thoughts on “Chaos and Cupcakes

  1. It sounds like everything happening in your life is “age appropriate”! Don’t you wish there were 8 days in a week? On the 8th day, we could just sleep in, quilt/craft and eat!

Leave a Reply

