Quick Update – October Festivals and a Halloween Quilt

Hey Everyone!

It’s been a crazy last week or so around here and unfortunately I was feeling a bit under the weather this weekend as well. So I have a lot to catch up on and very little time to do it as I’m leaving for “vacation” on Thursday with my family. Notice how it’s in quotes? I’m not sure it’s actually going to be a vacation. We’re taking a trip up north (Oregon and Washington) to visit a few colleges for my sister who will be applying to them within the next couple months or so. I decided to tag along as I love the Pacific Northwest and need a little getaway from my crazy work schedule right now. We’ll be driving a total of something like 38 hours in the car over 4 days. We’ll see how that goes…..

Any-who, like I said..a lot happened this past week. The Pacific International Quilt Festival (also known as PIQF) was being held in Santa Clara, CA this past week. I had a chance to go and took several pictures for you all to check out….when I get the chance to download them all to my computer from my camera.

Also, I attended the 42nd Annual Half Moon Bay Art and Pumpkin Festival with my fambam on Saturday. I’ll have more to post about that coming up too as I was very inspired by a few artists and have a couple of pictures to share from the event as well.

For now, I’ll leave you with this project I worked on this weekend — not to be confused with the other Halloween projects I’ve promised to share with all of you that I mentioned in last weeks post.

This quilt is from the book Quilts from the House of Tula Pink and the pattern is called Fairy Tale Lane. (I was inspired by her collection of fabrics I found…*ahem* and purchased *ahem* at PIQF this past weekend.) I’d also seen this pattern floating around on Pinterest and finally found where it had come from. Her book has some really fun designs but this one grabbed me. I should also add I altered mine slightly as I had several prints I wanted to use and I also didn’t want to make mine as large as stated in the book. With all that being said, here’s what I came up with. (Sorry about the quality of the image, I took a quick snapshot with my phone since my camera was filled with pictures from the quilt festival.)

It still needs to be quilted and bound..but I love it! Most of the fabrics I used were from last years Riley Blake Halloween line “Trick or Treat”. Other pieces include scraps from my collection of random Halloween prints I’ve collected over the years. I super love this quilt and can’t wait to finish it…even though I know that might not be until AFTER Halloween.

I can’t wait to share all my pictures from both festivals I attended this past week. I should have them up by Wednesday. Also check back tomorrow when I share my next Halloween project with all of you. My spooky owl applique throw pillow! :)

Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

