My New Block of the Month

Hey all! I’m finally back and have lots in store to show you coming up now that I have a little bit more free time on the horizon. :) Yay!

I started a new Block of the Month at the start of this year that I’m really excited about! It’s an Amy Bradley design called Animal Whimsy.

Amy Bradley Designs - Animal Whimsy Pattern

Isn’t it totally cute?! I love her stuff! It’s always so fun and cheerful. And we all know how much I love applique, so I couldn’t pass up a chance to do this pattern and share it with others in a Block of the Month program we’re running at my local shop, The Granary.

Once a month I’ll pick fabrics to make one of the animal blocks from the pattern. I got a little bit of a head start on picking some colorful backgrounds though. I couldn’t resist! It’s nice to have an idea of what it will look like as it grows. I love what I’ve picked so far for those backgrounds!

Block of the Month Background Fabrics

It’s going to be so bright and fun — great for any little one to enjoy. Those fabrics are just making me drool looking at them…

Moving forward with this blog, I’m hoping to post my finished block within the first week of every month for you all to see. I must have the block done by the 1st of every month to put up at the shop and have kits ready by then to sell and mail out. You’ll get to see my progress as the program goes on throughout the year. :)

So now without any further ado, here’s this month’s block — The Horse!

Animal Whimsy Block of the Month - SarahRose Quilts

If you’re interested in signing up for our program at The Granary, the kits are $13.95/month. This price includes 12 monthly fabric kits (plus buttons/accessories, if any, included in sample block) and a finishing kit (sashing and/or borders) at the end of the program. You can save 10% on your pattern if you purchase from the shop when you sign up for the program. In addition, they are also offering a 10% discount when you pre-pay for all 12 months. You can find more information on the program and shop contact information here, at thegranaryquilts.com.

Animal Whimsy Block of the Month Kits - SarahRose Quilts

Look at all those stinkin’ kits!! Ahh! I love it!! :) I can’t wait for the rest of the blocks to come!!

I’m also very excited to be blogging again. :) I’ve missed this little blog of mine. Thanks to all of you who have stuck with me. Hope you all are having a wonderful new start of the year. 2013 is going to be great! :)

4 thoughts on “My New Block of the Month

    1. Thanks, I thought so too. It’ll help me plan the future blocks a little bit faster down the line I think. At first, I began by only picking a handful (like maybe 4 or 5) and then I just couldn’t stop! I just had to have them all picked out before moving forward. Haha!

Leave a Reply

