Birthday Recap

My birthday was this past week…25! Eeek! I feel so grown up! :) Haha! We celebrated it with my extended family over the holiday break and then went out for a very nice dinner with my immediate family the day of. Both days were filled with lots of love from friends and family. I’m so grateful to have so many wonderful people in my life.

Special thanks to my mom for remembering my favorite color: ORANGE! And for ordering my birthday cake from one of the best cake places around, Icing on the Cake in Los Gatos, CA. It was banana flavored with cream cheese frosting. (Also my favorite!) It’s the most amazing cake ever!! Mmmm…

Happy Birthday Sarah! Cake

Also, here are a couple quilting goodies I received as gifts that I am pretty excited about as well…

Les Amis FQ collections and Large Rotary Cutter

I’d had my eye on this line called Les Amis by Patty Sloniger for a looonnnggg time. When it finally came out my mom bought two fat quarter bundles for me so I’d have both color-ways. (Still spoiled at 25..I know! Haha!) Aren’t they soo pretty? The coral color-way is called Merci and the turquoise color-way is called Bonjour. Too cute!

Fat Quarter collection of Les Amis in Merci Colorway by Patty Sloniger for Michael Miller Fabrics

I love the little woodland animals so much – owls, foxes, turtles and those cute little deer. Gosh! I’m in love! And the two color-ways are just to die for. I love coral and turquoise! I have no idea what I’ll do with them just yet. For now, they’re out on my desk and I just get to sit and stare at their pure cuteness all day. :)

Oh, I am also excited about my new rotary cutter (pictured above). I already have THREE 45mm Olfa rotary cutters in various colors/patterns that I’ve collected over the years, but I’ve wanted the 60mm Olfa rotary for a while now. I started out quilting with a standard Olfa 45mm rotary cutter years ago when my grandmother was first teaching me to sew and have always loved Olfa as a brand. And to be honest, all my older rotary cutters are still in EXCELLENT condition. I just thought it’d be nice to have the 60mm on hand for certain projects (like this) where I’m cutting through a bunch of layers at once.

I just opened it the other day and used it for the first time on a project and boy, there’s really something to say about a nice new rotary cutter and blade. It cut like butta! So smooth…ahh! :) I’m so grateful for all my other gifts as well. I’m so spoiled by my friends and family. Thank you to all who were a part of it.

Here’s to another great year ahead — filled with lots of quilting! <3

4 thoughts on “Birthday Recap

  1. Happy belated birthday, Sarah! We love Icing on the Cake also. In fact, for my daughter’s wedding in 2011 they had a 3 cupcake assortment for their wedding cakes – and my favorite was the banana! Always enjoy your blog.

  2. Love to start my day looking at beautiful fabric! Thanks for sharing it. I’ve never been an orange fan – jewel-tone gal all my life – but I’m starting to appreciate it! Happy Birthday!

    1. Thanks Daisy! Glad to hear you’re opening up to new colors. I love jewel tones as well (I used them a lot a few years back) but orange has made a big appearance in the quilting world recently — and I’ve been taking full advantage of it! :) Haha!

Leave a Reply

