Winter Wonderland Table Topper

Hello and welcome to the next stop on the Christmas in July Blog Hop being hosted by The Crafty Quilter! If you’re new here, welcome! I’m so happy to be sharing a lovely tutorial on my project for the hop, this Winter Wonderland Table Topper!

Winter Wonderland Christmas Table Topper

This table topper is really easy and quick to put together – making it a great gift idea for the holidays! Let’s jump right in!

This tutorial is made using a handful of pieces from a Layer Cake. I thought it would be fun to use a precut set of fabrics (1) because they already coordinate so well and (2) because it would be a challenge to make something with one of the MANY Layer Cakes I have in my stash. Also, because this project only requires using a handful of pieces from a usually 40-42 count Layer Cake, you could make several of these table toppers to share with your friends and family for the holidays. How perfect is that?

Finished Size: 23 1/2″ x 23 1/2″

Fabric Requirements:

5 – 10″ x 10″ squares for pieced squares center
2 – 10″ x 10″ squares for setting triangles (My layer cake included doubles of the entire line, making it possible to use two of the same fabric for each of the four setting triangles. If you do not have doubles in your Layer Cake, I suggest choosing two squares that are similar in color/print scale if you want your sample to look close to mine.)
1 – 10″ x 10″ square for corner triangles
1/8 yard of white for center sashing
7/8 yard for backing
7/8 yard batting (I used a scrap piece of Hobbs 80/20 batting that I had lying around, but I also like Pellon Thermolam for table toppers and runners. It’s a good weight and holds it’s shape really well.)
1/4 yard for binding

Cutting Instructions:

For Pieced Center:
Cut 2 – 2 1/2″ strips from each of your 5 – 10″ squares. (*You will not need the rest of these fabrics for this table topper, but don’t fear! You can use the rest of these pieces to make a second table topper later!)

Cut 1

For Setting Triangles:
Trim your 2 – 10″ squares down to make each of them 9″ squares. Then, cut each of them in half once diagonally. (Each square should yield two triangles, for a total of four triangles.)

Cut 2

For Corner Triangles:
Cut your 1 – 10″ square in half twice diagonally (Your one square should yield four triangles.)

For your Center Sashing:
Cut 2 – 1 1/4″ strips x WOF
Subcut into: 2 – 10 1/2″ strips and 2 – 12″ strips

Table Topper Assembly:

Step 1: It’s important to take a second (if you’re picky like me) before you start piecing to lay out your strips to see color placement. Lay out one of each of the coordinating 2 1/2″ strips as shown below.

Table Topper Color Placement

*Keep in mind that your first piece and last piece will touch each other too when laying these out.

Once you’ve decided on color placement, sew all of your strips together. DON’T PRESS as you’re piecing these together. I know you’ll want to because it’ll make it easier to sew them all to each other, but in the following steps they’ll need to alternate directions. If you need to, finger press them gently to one side.

Step 2: Once your strips are sewn together, take your first and last strips and sew them together, creating a tube. (If you’re looking at my strips above, I sewed my (1st) beige strip to my (last) red strip.)

Step 3: Repeat steps 1 and 2 with your remaining 5 – 2 1/2 strips for pieced center. You should be laying out the fabrics in the EXACT same layout as done in step 1 or the pattern will not repeat correctly. You should have two tubes that look identical.

Step 4: Now that you have your two tubes, lay one out on your cutting mat and measure 2 1/2″ from the edge and cut. You should be able to get 4 – 2 1/2″ stripped tubes from this larger tube (if you’re careful). If you’re like me, I needed to clean up one side and then make my first cut. I got 3 strips from my first tube and cut two additional tubes from my second tube. – Whichever way you choose, you need 5 pieced tubes. (*You will have a leftover piece from your second larger tube. You will not be using the rest of this piece in this tutorial. You can set it aside for the rest of this project.)

Cutting Strip Tubes

Step 5: Once you’ve cut 5 stripped tubes, take out those seam rippers or snippers and get ready to un-sew. Don’t worry though! You’ll only be taking out one seam from each of your five strips.

For your first tube, take out the seam between your first fabric and your last fabric. Open your strip up and lay it down on your mat. Then pick up the next tube and rotate it one square over, remove this seam. You should be picking out the seam between your last fabric and fourth fabric. Lie it on the mat next to your last strip.

Step3-2

Follow this method until you have five strips that chain across the quilt diagonally. (See Step 7 for what your center layout should look like.) Once you’ve seam ripped and laid out your five strips, NOW you can press. Press each row in opposite directions. Rows 1, 3 and 5 I pressed upward and rows 2 and 4 I pressed down.  They should nest into each other when pieced together in next step.

Step 6: Piece these pieced strips together. Press your rows all in one direction and admire all those perfect matching seams! (*I gave my final pieced center a good press with some Best Press so it would lie nice and flat as I moved forward in the following steps.)

Step 7: Take your 2 – 1 1/4″ x 10 1/2″ sashing strips and piece to either side of your pieced center. Press away from the center. Then take your  2 – 1 1/4″ x 12″ sashing strips and piece to the top and bottom of your pieced center. Press away from center block.

Center of Table Topper

Step 8: Grab 2 of your 4 setting triangles and fold them in half just at the long end. Pinch/finger press to create crease at the halfway point to find the center of the triangle. Fold your pieced center block in half and pinch/finger press the halfway mark.

Pinch to find centers

Step 9: Once you’ve found the centers, fold your setting triangle onto your pieced center (right sides together) and pin where these two creases meet. Pin once more (or more) on either side of the center pin to keep triangle lined up on edge. Your triangle should extend past either end of your pieced center by 1/4″. Sew your two setting triangles down and press them away from the center block.

Repeat steps 8 and 9 to piece top and bottom triangles onto pieced center to create the following block.

Winter Wonderland Christmas Table Topper Pieced Center

Step 10: Next, take your four corner triangles and pinch/finger press to find their centers along each of their long ends, just as you did for the setting triangles. Again, find the centers on each of the sides of the pieced center of the table topper. Match both of your pinched creases to each other and pin in place, RST. (*Note: I was mindful about which direction my birds all faced when piecing these final four corner squares down since the fabric was directional. Feel free to do the same if you’re as picky as me.)

Step7

Sew all four corner triangles down and press away from pieced center.

Winter Wonderland Christmas Table Topper

Finishing Instructions:

Layer your backing, batting, and table topper top, baste, quilt and then bind.

I used straight line stitching in a variation of ways on my top including crosshatching over the center squares, echoing inside the sashing and triangles…

Winter Wonderland Christmas Table Topper Quilting

…as well as some created some ray-like quilting on the setting triangles. I’ve always been more partial to piecing rather than quilting, but this table topper was a lot of fun and totally manageable to quilt…even for ME!!

Winter Wonderland Christmas Table Topper Quilting

And there you have it! A beautiful and super simple quilted table topper that will make any home festive for the holiday season!

Christmas Table Topper Give Away

Update (Sunday, July 28): Thanks to all who submitted a comment and entered to win this lovely giveaway gift. The winner will be revealed on Monday, July 29! Thanks so much for stopping by and please come back and visit again soon!

Winter Wonderland Christmas Table Topper

111 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland Table Topper

  1. This is just exactly the right size to learn all sorts of new tricks without getting discouraged – you’ve got the bargello, setting triangles, inside corners on the binding, and easy beginning quilting. Definitely going on my To-Do list! Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. I enjoyed yur tutorial and am looking forward to making it with some of the fabric in my stash. Thanks fr sharing it with us.

  3. Sarah, I love your table topper, the shape and the combination of fabrics. I have linked your tutorial to the Swedish National Quilt Guild, Rikstacket in order to share your great tutorial to the members and maybe more Swedish quilters. Have a great week

  4. I just love this table topper – the fabrics are just beautiful! I would dearly love to win, so thanks for the chance, and sharing your lovely design.

  5. This is a great table topper. I love the fabrics. They are Christmas-y and yet can be used for other seasons, too. This is definitely on my to-do list whether I am lucky enough to win the kit or not. Thanks for being gracious enough to join the Christmas in July Blog Hop with a great tutorial and a fabulous giveaway. Many, many thanks.

  6. Thank you so much for sharing. Quilters are so special in that way! I love that this fabric incorporates all the winter months. Snow and bare branched trees, red for valentine’s day, and cardinals to keep us smiling through the cold. A perfect project for my twin granddaughters to try. We just moved to their hometown and they are chomping at the bit for our first project. A sigh worthy “grandma moment”!

  7. Thanks for the pattern. Table toppers are my weakness. I guess because you can finish them in a short amount of time. I can think of several people that will get one of these for Christmas.
    Jean

  8. What a great design. I loved the tutorial as well – it was so clear. Now I’ll have to head back to the Granary for some fabric to try this with.

  9. Beautiful table topper. I love this shape on a table. It just looks so much nicer than just a square alone. Thank you for the wonderful tutorial as well.

  10. Lovely topper. Great tutorial. You make the non-standard shape look so easy! Thanks for offering freebies! Ldscrap at yahoo dot com

  11. Thanks for a great tutorial — Sarah, your pattern is stunning — and I do love the non-traditional Christmas fabrics. I would love this table topper on my dining room table.

  12. I am going straight to my sewing room! I give Christmas runners or table toppers as shower gifts for new brides. I always include a “our first Christmas ornament”. Thanks for the great project!!

  13. Your choice of colors in this cute little topper is currently my FAVORITE color combo!! I just love this! What wonderful Christmas gifts this topper would make!! Thank you for sharing!

  14. I’m with you, Sarah! I would much rather be piecing the top than quilting, but this looks like a very manageable size and I think it would be a great way to actually do some quilting. Thanks!

  15. Such a great project — I could see this as a gift idea! Plus I love the fabric colors and patterns. Thanks for sharing such a nice pattern!

  16. What a beautiful table topper! The instructions are well written and very informative! I really appreciate you sharing this and teaching us this pattern. I’m going to try this one out! Have a lovely day!

  17. I have looking for a cute table topper and yours is a great one to sew. Thanks for sharing the pattern.

  18. I’m a beginner quilter and just found your blog. I love this piece and I plan to make it – winning the kit would just make it that much better! :) Can’t wait to explore more of your blog.

  19. What a great pattern, Sarah. I love the fabric you’ve used, and that bargello effect makes the table topper look so special all year round. Thanks so much for the tutorial and the giveaway..

  20. I would love to win a kit, this is beautiful and a wonderful tutorial, I was wondering how easy, or difficult it was to get the binding around those points.

  21. This is a great pattern, Sarah! And, I like your suggestion to make several as gifts. Thanks for the tute & the giveaway.

  22. Very easy to follow!! Thank you very much!!!
    Wondering if one of three squares change to a circle, what will it be?

  23. Take a look at Moda Marbles and see if it would supplement your stash — I am considering it for my background accent on Animal Whimsy. :). Lots of colors to choose from. Fatquartershop.com is where I found it…

  24. What a wonderful fun filled Christmas table topper, I also thinks your fabric gives a new spin on the Christmas season. thanks for the great pattern.

  25. I love your table topper tutorial and I tried it tonight! Still need to quilt and bind and then will post on Julie’s Christmas in July Flickr group so you can see. Thanks so much!

  26. The table topper is beautifu. I cannot wait to make this and I would love to be the winner. You are a wonderful designer!!

  27. I love this pattern & fabric. This piece would be perfect for my little apartment. I’m planning on making one for my daughter also!

  28. Thank you for the lovely tutorial. I always enjoy making at least one new thing for the house at Christmas. Tabletoppers are always fun to make because they don’t take much time and you can always find a way to use them.

  29. I love the colors in this table topper…cute idea ..I am always looking for some Christmas gift ideas. Love this.

  30. This is lovely! I can’t wait to make one. Will also be a great gift for several special quilting friends! Thanks so much for sharing!

  31. What a beautiful table topper. I LOVE the fabric you chose and the tutorial makes it look really easy to make. Thanks.

  32. I know the drawing is over but I wanted to comment on the table topper. Really a neat idea and a chance from the usual long, rectangular runner. I would like more info on the binding…any secrets? I noticed the picture of the beautiful miter at the corner and that the binding appeared to have been put on by machine? Sort of reminds me of the directions that say quilt as desired…more details about your wonderful binding!!

Leave a Reply

